invirt/packages/invirt-dns.git
7 years agoStyle nit for Quentin dev prod 0.0.13
Mitchell E Berger [Sat, 29 Oct 2011 19:59:49 +0000 (15:59 -0400)] 
Style nit for Quentin

7 years agoTeach the DNS server how to delegate
Mitchell E Berger [Sat, 29 Oct 2011 09:38:23 +0000 (05:38 -0400)] 
Teach the DNS server how to delegate

10 years agochangelog 0.0.11
Greg Price [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 09:52:47 +0000 (04:52 -0500)] 
changelog

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2210

10 years agopull out dns.IN, comment the structure of the DNS logic
Greg Price [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 09:38:33 +0000 (04:38 -0500)] 
pull out dns.IN, comment the structure of the DNS logic

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2209

10 years agorefactor DNS logic; fix some bugs in reverse-resolution
Greg Price [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 09:38:26 +0000 (04:38 -0500)] 
refactor DNS logic; fix some bugs in reverse-resolution

Namely, stop returning answers to A and NS queries on *.in-addr.arpa.

I found these bugs because I was simplifying the logic, after the
author had said it was correct and he and another developer had
tested it.  This is why it matters to get the code clear.

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2208

10 years agofix a comment
Greg Price [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 09:37:44 +0000 (04:37 -0500)] 
fix a comment

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2207

10 years agoAnswer all PTR requests, even if we otherwise wouldn't be authoritative 0.0.10
Quentin Smith [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 07:56:54 +0000 (02:56 -0500)] 
Answer all PTR requests, even if we otherwise wouldn't be authoritative

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2201

10 years agoReverse-resolution support in invirt-dns
Quentin Smith [Fri, 27 Feb 2009 07:41:51 +0000 (02:41 -0500)] 
Reverse-resolution support in invirt-dns

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2197

10 years agoThe DNS server shouldn't error if dns.zone_files isn't set in the config. 0.0.9
Evan Broder [Sat, 31 Jan 2009 01:38:36 +0000 (20:38 -0500)] 
The DNS server shouldn't error if dns.zone_files isn't set in the config.

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=2037

10 years agoDNS lookups first look in the nics table and then the machines table. 0.0.8
Evan Broder [Tue, 13 Jan 2009 01:55:00 +0000 (20:55 -0500)] 
DNS lookups first look in the nics table and then the machines table.

This allows VMs with multiple IPs to have DNS names associated with
both IPs.

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1974

10 years agoSome quick touch-ups in Yang's quoting code - and a changelog entry 0.0.7
Evan Broder [Wed, 12 Nov 2008 23:59:41 +0000 (18:59 -0500)] 
Some quick touch-ups in Yang's quoting code - and a changelog entry

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1631

10 years agofixed string literal parsing; broder will test
Yang Zhang [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 21:38:01 +0000 (17:38 -0400)] 
fixed string literal parsing; broder will test

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1511

10 years agoAdd support for basic quoting in the DNS zone file 0.0.6
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 08:21:47 +0000 (04:21 -0400)] 
Add support for basic quoting in the DNS zone file

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1490

10 years agoPunt the passup option from the DNS since the zone file can be used 0.0.5
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 05:55:22 +0000 (01:55 -0400)] 
Punt the passup option from the DNS since the zone file can be used
for the same thing

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1478

10 years agoAdd support for DNS zone files that take precedence over the database
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 04:53:20 +0000 (00:53 -0400)] 
Add support for DNS zone files that take precedence over the database

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1477

10 years agoRemove subversion from invirt-dns's dependencies 0.0.4
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 01:05:52 +0000 (21:05 -0400)] 
Remove subversion from invirt-dns's dependencies

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1467

10 years agoWhoops - actually install the invirt-dns script
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 01:04:41 +0000 (21:04 -0400)] 
Whoops - actually install the invirt-dns script

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1466

10 years agoRearrange invirt-dns to not use files/ tree 0.0.3
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 01:01:12 +0000 (21:01 -0400)] 
Rearrange invirt-dns to not use files/ tree

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1464

10 years agoFix the DNS server hanging on what should have been NXDOMAINs
Evan Broder [Sat, 1 Nov 2008 01:00:18 +0000 (21:00 -0400)] 
Fix the DNS server hanging on what should have been NXDOMAINs

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1463

10 years agoStandardize on "Invirt project" in invirt-dns 0.0.2
Evan Broder [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 18:00:24 +0000 (14:00 -0400)] 
Standardize on "Invirt project" in invirt-dns

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1223

10 years agofix our copyright files
Greg Price [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 08:57:02 +0000 (04:57 -0400)] 
fix our copyright files

E.g., this is free software.

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1205

10 years agosipb-xen -> invirt for dns 0.0.1
Greg Price [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 05:01:03 +0000 (01:01 -0400)] 
sipb-xen -> invirt for dns

svn path=/trunk/packages/invirt-dns/; revision=1184

10 years agoUpdate SQLAlchemy code in sipb-xen-dns sipb-xen-dns/1.06
Evan Broder [Sat, 4 Oct 2008 00:45:49 +0000 (20:45 -0400)] 
Update SQLAlchemy code in sipb-xen-dns

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=1018

10 years agoActually include a requirement for twisted.names sipb-xen-dns/1.05.1
Evan Broder [Thu, 2 Oct 2008 22:49:15 +0000 (18:49 -0400)] 
Actually include a requirement for twisted.names

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=1004

10 years agoBring sipb-xen-dns into alignment with more standard packaging practices sipb-xen-dns/1.05
Evan Broder [Thu, 2 Oct 2008 22:42:59 +0000 (18:42 -0400)] 
Bring sipb-xen-dns into alignment with more standard packaging practices

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=1002

10 years agons1.prod will be running on citadel-station
Yang Zhang [Mon, 25 Aug 2008 17:35:32 +0000 (13:35 -0400)] 
ns1.prod will be running on citadel-station

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=924

10 years ago * Search for longest-matching domain name instead of first-matching.
Yang Zhang [Mon, 25 Aug 2008 05:27:07 +0000 (01:27 -0400)] 
  * Search for longest-matching domain name instead of first-matching.
  * ns1.prod.xvm.mit.edu (0.0.0.0) is the primary nameserver for the prod
    zone.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=922

10 years agoAdd "passup" and "parent" options to the DNS config, to allow forwarding
Geoffrey Thomas [Sun, 24 Aug 2008 10:44:33 +0000 (06:44 -0400)] 
Add "passup" and "parent" options to the DNS config, to allow forwarding
certain names as CNAME to a parent domain. This was implemented for the Vista
activation server SRV record, but can be used to pass on any well-known
reserved names.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=913

11 years ago * sipb_xen_database -> invirt.database sipb-xen-dns/1.02
Yang Zhang [Mon, 4 Aug 2008 01:35:24 +0000 (21:35 -0400)] 
  * sipb_xen_database -> invirt.database
  * use invirt.config in dnsserver.py

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=851

11 years agoupdate SOA record for the xvm.mit.edu order of things
Greg Price [Mon, 4 Aug 2008 00:06:41 +0000 (20:06 -0400)] 
update SOA record for the xvm.mit.edu order of things

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=849

11 years agotodo lists for configuration
Greg Price [Sat, 2 Aug 2008 03:27:32 +0000 (23:27 -0400)] 
todo lists for configuration

I looked through all the code for hardcoded details that should be moved
to configuration, and listed them in a file config.todo in each package
directory.  These can be knocked off line-by-line as todo lists, and
removed when empty.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=810

11 years agoRestructuring code to correctly return NXDOMAIN on non-A-record requests
Evan Broder [Tue, 24 Jun 2008 02:10:52 +0000 (22:10 -0400)] 
Restructuring code to correctly return NXDOMAIN on non-A-record requests

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=651

11 years agoEmpty the authority and additional sections to prevent infinite loops if there
Evan Broder [Tue, 24 Jun 2008 01:57:35 +0000 (21:57 -0400)] 
Empty the authority and additional sections to prevent infinite loops if there
is no response

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=650

11 years agoCanonicalize anything we get to lower case
Evan Broder [Mon, 23 Jun 2008 20:23:00 +0000 (16:23 -0400)] 
Canonicalize anything we get to lower case

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=646

11 years agoAlways return an additional section
Evan Broder [Mon, 23 Jun 2008 18:15:07 +0000 (14:15 -0400)] 
Always return an additional section

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=645

11 years agoxvm.mit.edu MUST NOT (in RFC terms) be a CNAME
Evan Broder [Mon, 23 Jun 2008 00:40:44 +0000 (20:40 -0400)] 
xvm.mit.edu MUST NOT (in RFC terms) be a CNAME

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=643

11 years agoAttempting to close #92 and #93
Evan Broder [Tue, 3 Jun 2008 06:05:10 +0000 (02:05 -0400)] 
Attempting to close #92 and #93

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=582

11 years agoReturn an NS record in the authority section instead of SOA
Evan Broder [Sat, 31 May 2008 05:36:44 +0000 (01:36 -0400)] 
Return an NS record in the authority section instead of SOA

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=541

11 years agoCNAME xvm.mit.edu to sipb-xen-dev.mit.edu
Eric Price [Thu, 8 May 2008 09:22:04 +0000 (05:22 -0400)] 
CNAME xvm.mit.edu to sipb-xen-dev.mit.edu

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=508

11 years agoSupport xvm.mit.edu as well.
Eric Price [Wed, 7 May 2008 23:21:10 +0000 (19:21 -0400)] 
Support xvm.mit.edu as well.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=505

11 years agoFixed a bug in the DNS startup script and the dependencies for sipb-xen-www sipb-xen-dns/1
Evan Broder [Sat, 29 Mar 2008 22:25:41 +0000 (18:25 -0400)] 
Fixed a bug in the DNS startup script and the dependencies for sipb-xen-www

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=319

11 years agoUndo accidental commit in -r 311.
Eric Price [Sat, 29 Mar 2008 21:09:04 +0000 (17:09 -0400)] 
Undo accidental commit in -r 311.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=312

11 years agoGetting rid of the two-layered package structure. This is a temporary commit.
Eric Price [Sat, 29 Mar 2008 21:05:59 +0000 (17:05 -0400)] 
Getting rid of the two-layered package structure.  This is a temporary commit.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=311

11 years agoWork around stale database connections (#4) in the DNS server
Eric Price [Sat, 29 Mar 2008 02:19:05 +0000 (22:19 -0400)] 
Work around stale database connections (#4) in the DNS server

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=302

11 years agoClear the sql cache for dns and dhcp, fixing #42.
Eric Price [Sat, 29 Mar 2008 01:49:31 +0000 (21:49 -0400)] 
Clear the sql cache for dns and dhcp, fixing #42.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=300

11 years agoDNS server would now log any output to LOG_DAEMON...of course there isn't any currently
Evan Broder [Fri, 28 Mar 2008 23:07:10 +0000 (19:07 -0400)] 
DNS server would now log any output to LOG_DAEMON...of course there isn't any currently

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=283

11 years agoContact info for the two new packages should be sipb-xen@
Evan Broder [Wed, 27 Feb 2008 02:00:53 +0000 (21:00 -0500)] 
Contact info for the two new packages should be sipb-xen@

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=276

11 years agoAnd...we changed the port, so this wasn't accurate
Evan Broder [Tue, 26 Feb 2008 20:50:07 +0000 (15:50 -0500)] 
And...we changed the port, so this wasn't accurate

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=272

11 years agoA couple fixups to the sipb-xen-dns package. Also, testing commits over HTTP
Evan Broder [Tue, 26 Feb 2008 20:32:08 +0000 (15:32 -0500)] 
A couple fixups to the sipb-xen-dns package. Also, testing commits over HTTP

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=271

11 years agoForgot to chmod the DNS server +x
Evan Broder [Mon, 25 Feb 2008 03:46:49 +0000 (22:46 -0500)] 
Forgot to chmod the DNS server +x

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=270

11 years agoCreated init scripts and moved dnsserver.py script into sipb-xen-dns package
Evan Broder [Mon, 25 Feb 2008 03:34:49 +0000 (22:34 -0500)] 
Created init scripts and moved dnsserver.py script into sipb-xen-dns package

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=269

11 years agoInitial checkin of sipb-xen-dns package.
Tim Abbott [Mon, 25 Feb 2008 02:05:02 +0000 (21:05 -0500)] 
Initial checkin of sipb-xen-dns package.

svn path=/trunk/packages/sipb-xen-dns/; revision=268

11 years agoUse the machine name, not the hostname, field.
Eric Price [Mon, 29 Oct 2007 03:16:12 +0000 (23:16 -0400)] 
Use the machine name, not the hostname, field.

svn path=/trunk/dns/; revision=226

11 years agoDNS server!
Eric Price [Wed, 10 Oct 2007 12:52:32 +0000 (08:52 -0400)] 
DNS server!

svn path=/trunk/dns/; revision=181

11 years agoDNS (*.servers.csail.mit.edu from database)
Eric Price [Mon, 8 Oct 2007 04:04:00 +0000 (00:04 -0400)] 
DNS (*.servers.csail.mit.edu from database)

svn path=/trunk/dns/; revision=131